• Special Session by ASPAC

Our Next Vision -- Insight for Economic Growth and Sustainability

Thursday 16 Nov 2017
1F Main Hall

Session Concept:
The session, initiated by the Asia Pacific Network of Science & Technology Centres (ASPAC) as the host region of SCWS2017, will highlight the evolving role of science centers in Asia Pacific in balancing the scale of economic development and sustainability. Asia Pacific holds the fastest-growing economy in the world and it can learn from the lessons in history and in science. An ecologically sustainable and healthy economy would require the critical participation of citizens who in turn are the main audience of science centers and science museums. How can science centers concretely push the agenda for sustainability to be the guardian and guide of economic development? In the Panel Discussion, panelists from ASPAC will present their current situations and challenges, and confer with global panelists of different backgrounds to identify the evolving role of science centers in pushing the critical agenda of sustainability in economic development.

Session structure:
1. ASPAC Video Introduction: ‘This is ASPAC” – an animated tapestry of the work that ASPAC institutions are doing across the region to push us towards the Sustainable Development Goals.
2. Opening Remarks
3. Panel Discussion (Aiko Doden, Chi-ming Shun, Shahbaz Khan, Duckhwan Lee, Julia Tagüeña)
4. ASPAC Overview and Closing Remarks (Tit Meng Lim, President of ASPAC)


Graham Durant
Director, Questacon
Professor Graham Durant AM is the Director of Questacon, Australia's National Science and Technology Centre and an Honorary Professor at the Australian National University. He spent 25 years at the University of Glasgow prior to moving to Australia in 2003.


Tit Meng Lim
President of ASPAC/Chief Executive of Science Centre Singapore
A/Prof. Lim is CEO Science Centre Singapore and President of ASPAC. He is also President of Singapore Association for Advancement of Science; Vice President of Singapore National Academy of Science and General Secretary of Association of Singapore Attractions Executive Committee.
Chi-ming Shun
President, Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology (CAeM) of UN World Meteorological Organization (WMO)/Director, Hong Kong Observatory
Hong Kong
Mr. Shun specialized in aeronautical meteorology and he is the first Asian to be President of CAeM. He served as Chairman of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)/WMO Typhoon Committee 2013. He is also Chair of the Hong Kong Meteorological Society and Member of the Chinese Meteorological Society Executive Committee.
Shahbaz Khan
Director, the UNESCO Regional Science Bureau for Asia and the Pacific
Professor Khan holds fellowship of several prestigious science and engineering bodies including Engineers Australia where he is a Fellow, Chartered Engineer and Engineering Executive. He has worked in various academic, research, consultancy and policy positions in Australia, France, Indonesia and Pakistan and is honorary adjunct professor at several universities.
Julia Tagüeña
Deputy Director General for Scientific Development, Mexican National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT)
Dr. Tagüeña is the Deputy Director General for Scientific Development at the Mexican National Council of Science and Technology. She has been a research professor at the Energy Research Center of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), of which she also served as Director. She worked on science communication in directing the UNAM Science Center Universum. She is a former executive director of RedPOP.