• Special Session
  • Presentation

The Tokyo Protocol: Our Global Plan for Local Action

Wednesday 15 Nov 2017
1F Main Hall

Session Concept:
The Science Centre World Summit 2014 (Belgium) resulted in the Mechelen Declaration, the action plan in which the science centre field and their global partners committed to concrete actions towards the enhancement of public engagement for a better world. The beginning of the session will make us reflect on what we are doing and how well we are performing compared with the targets we set. Moderators will outline the state of affairs compared to the implementation of the Mechelen Declaration, using examples from all over the world.
Recently the international science centre networks agreed upon an addition to and update of the Mechelen Declaration: the Tokyo Protocol. In the second part of the session, Dr. Mamoru Mohri, Chair of the Science Centre World Summit 2017, will outline the importance of the Tokyo Protocol. The chairpersons of the science centre networks worldwide will highlight the significance of the Tokyo Protocol and the priorities for their region.


Derek Fish
Director, Unizulu Science Centre
South Africa
Erik Jacquemyn
Chair, the Science Centre World Summit 2014/International consultant Jacquemyn & associates


Mamoru Mohri
Chairman, International Programme Committee of the SCWS2017/Chief Executive Director, National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation (Miraikan)/Astronaut
Dr. Mohri, Ph.D., and Japan’s 1st astronaut, flew twice on the Space Shuttle. As Miraikan’s first CEO, he fosters new styles in science communication and helps the frontiers of Science and Technology connect to the public.
Herbert Münder
President, Ecsite/General Manager, Universum Bremen
Since 2012, Mr. Münder is the Managing Director of Universum® Bremen.
Before that he was responsible for „Wissenschaft im Dialog“ (2002-2011).
He is also President of Ecsite and of MINTaktiv, respectively the European and the German networks of science centres and museums.
Tit Meng Lim
President, ASPAC/CEO, Science Centre Singapore
A/Prof Lim is CEO Science Centre Singapore and President of ASPAC. He is also President of Singapore Association for Advancement of Science; Vice President of Singapore National Academy of Science and General Secretary of Association of Singapore Attractions Executive Committee.
Guy Labine
Chair, ASTC/CEO, Science North
Mr. Labine has been Science North’s CEO since 2011. After joining the team in 2001, he has lead a number of innovative initiatives that have supported Science North’s strategic growth. Guy is also Past-President of the Canadian Association of Science Centres (CASC).
Maissa Azab
Executive Director, NAMES
Mondli Mnguni
President, SAASTEC
South Africa
Mr. Mnguni is Chairperson of the Southern African Association of Science and Technology Centres (SAASTEC). He has been manager of Mondi Science Centre in Mkhondo, South Africa since 2006 and is a Chief Education Specialist for Teacher Development and Governance.
Luisa Massarani
Director -Researcher and Science Communicator, RedPOP/ Museum of Life-House of Oswaldo Cruz-Oswaldo Cruz Foundation
Director of RedPOP, the Latin American network for science communication 2016-2017 and Science communicator & Researcher at Museum of Life (Brazil). Coordinator of the Brazilian Institute of Public Communication of Science and Technology.